The wanderers return

Janet Gnosspelius (1926-2010), who died five years ago this month, left a generous bequest to the University Library. Included in this were twenty-five titles by Arthur Ransome (1884-1967), the man her mother – Barbara Collingwood – might have married. Many of these are first editions inscribed by the author to Barbara before and after her marriage. The Ransome books unfortunately became separated from the donation before it reached the Library and were thought lost. They have recently been traced – just in time for the anniversary of Janet Gnosspelius’s death.

Dating from 1904 to 1962, the collection spans Ransome’s literary life and wide-ranging interests, from his impoverished start in London (The Souls of the Streets & other little papers,1904) to his eventual fame as the author of the Swallows and Amazons series. It includes the study of Oscar Wilde (1913) for which Lord Alfred Douglas sued Ransome for libel, the works drawn from his six years in Russia, where he worked as a secret agent for M16 (Russia in 1919, and The Crisis in Russia, 1921), the log of a sailing holiday in the Baltic after his move to Estonia, where he lived with and eventually married Trotsky’s secretary (‘Racundra’s’ First Cruise,1923), and one of his last books on another lifelong passion (Fishing, 1956).

SwallowsandAmazonsOf the twelve books in the Swallows and Amazons series, the Gnosspelius collection includes inscribed first editions of Swallows and Amazons (1930), Swallowdale (1931, dedicated to “Janet, with love from Uncle Arthur”), Peter Duck (1932), Winter Holiday (1933), Coot Club (1934), Pigeon Post (1936 – the first winner of the Carnegie Medal for children’s literature), and We Didn’t Mean to go to Sea (1937), and 1960s editions, with original dustjackets, of Secret Water, Missie Lee, The Picts and the Martyrs, and Great Northern?. The only missing title – The Big Six – is held in a first edition as part of the Oldham Children’s Book Collection.

The reunited Gnosspelius books now number 100, and are being catalogued and made available for consultation in Special Collections & Archives.






Advent and After: 12. In the bleak midwinter

Old Peter's Russian Tales

Illustration from Old Peter's Russian Tales. Gnosspelius A.10

Old Peter's Russian Tales

Old Peter's Russian Tales. Gnosspelius A.10


Old Peter’s Russian Tales (1916)
This book is part of the Gnosspelius Books Collection donated by Janet Gnosspelius, a former Architecture student, who left a generous bequest to the University.  The new Researcher Reading Room, which opened in the Sydney Jones Library on December 12 2012, was created with the Gnosspelius bequest.
Old Peter’s Russian Tales is dedicated by the author, Arthur  Ransome, to ‘Miss Barbara Collingwood’ – Janet Gnosspelius’s mother – and this  copy of the first edition originally belonged to her. Her name appears on the front flyleaf with the date Nov. 9 1916. The copy is likely to have been given  to her by the author – who had previously proposed to her. Despite her refusal,  the families remained close: Janet Gnosspelius appears as Nancy in his novel  Pigeon Post (1936), part of the Ransome’s Swallows and Amazons series.
Old Peter’s Russian Tales consists of traditional style Russian legends and short stories and is beautifully illustrated by Dmitri Mitrokhin.

Liverpool Heritage Open Month

Who? Find out more about Joseph Mayer, Josephine Butler, John Sampson, Robert Andrew Scott Macfie, Edgar Allison Peers, Janet Gnosspelius, Olaf Stapledon, Eric Frank Russell, Ramsey Campbell, the Liverpool Science Fiction Group, and the University of Liverpool itself.

Where? Find out where they lived and worked in Liverpool.

When? Find out when they arrived in Liverpool and how long they stayed.

What? From Josephine Butler’s jet mourning jewellery to a Dental Students’ Society tie, via an Occupy Senate poster and Eric Frank Russell’s Hugo Award, see the University’s Special Collections and Archives from a new angle.

Designing libraries

A new finding aid is available for the papers of Janet Gnosspelius (University of Liverpool Archives D1090) deposited in March 2013 by her cousin Teresa Smith.

This week sees the opening of the new Liverpool Central Library. The library has undergone a complete redesign to ensure the running is more efficient and practical, functions that Janet Gnosspelius had to consider when designing a public library for Coventry as part of her Thesis.

D1090: Sketches made by Janet Gnosspelius during the course of studying a module entitled ‘Theory of Arches’

Janet Gnosspelius (1926-2010) studied Architecture at the University of Liverpool between 1943 and 1948.

This new listing contains her lecture notes and examination preparation from her undergraduate course.

The lecture notes cover a wide range of topics including the History of Architecture, a module that covered ancient architecture.

This collection also includes preparation, notes and a draft copy of her final year thesis entitled, ‘A Public Library for Coventry’. The thesis discusses the requirements, both architectural and practical, of a public library. Liverpool University Special Collections also holds the Gnosspelius Book Collection.